“My Father” by Theodore Alexander Vegh

My father passed away on December 1, 2010 A.D., and tomorrow will be nine years from that sad day of my life. I thought about him and his guidance over my early life. As I thought about him yesterday, my eyes fell on a book in my room called “Luke’s Passage A Novel” by Max Davis. I picked it up out of curiosity, and I found a part of the book was about a funeral. The preacher at the funeral made a very meaningful plea to everyone to see death as a transformation. “To be absent from the body is to be present with the Lord” was the theme of his message. It really struck me as an amazing coincidence that I would pick up this book yesterday and have it speak to my need. The book is about Luke Hatcher set in 1966 AD Magnolia Springs, LA. His girlfriend died following an accident during a baseball game. His best friend died in Vietnam in his arms. He was seriously injured in Vietnam. He found the girl of his dreams at the end of the book. The book was a very emotional roller coaster with a strong undercurrent of Christian values and racial tensions in the USA during the 1960’s. I was amazed at how Max Davis could speak to me through his book in the vivid details he presented to reveal his strong faith in God. It hit me so hard I feel like my life is forever changed by this story. We have all lost loved ones over the years- some more than others, and this book puts our pain and suffering in a new light. I will forever be grateful to God and to Max Davis for the insights and messages I received from this book. I hope you will read the funeral message at some time in your life to see the power of faith to comfort a grieving soul. We are all on a journey, and we all have a purpose for being here. Mine is to comfort and help those around me. What is YOUR PURPOSE?


Leave a comment